About The Six Decade Rosary

October being the month of the Holy Rosary is the perfect period for me to blog about the Rosary, as well as other types of Rosaries, such as the six decade Rosary

Ever heard about the six-decade Rosary?

Saint Teresa of Jesus, aka St Teresa of Avila, prayed the Rosary each day, and whilst travelling throughout Spain stayed in at least one Brigittine Monastery. From these

From these nuns, she learned the six-decade Rosary, which was later adopted as the Rosary to be worn as part of the Discalced Carmelite habit, with a large medal of Our Lady of Mount Carmel in addition to, (or even in place of,) the Crucifix found on the Dominican Rosary.

With the Carmelites, only six of the eighteen decades are worn, as opposed to the entire fifteen decades of the Dominican Rosary, worn with the Religious habits of some other Orders.

The Brigittine Rosary consists of six decades. Seven Pater Noster beads honour the Seven Sorrows of the Blessed Virgin Mary, and sixty-three Ave Maria beads commemorate the sixty-three years it is believed she lived on earth before her Assumption.

When the whole devotion is offered there are a total of eighteen decades:

  • Six Joyful Mysteries:
    1.  The Immaculate Conception
      2. The Annunciation of Gabriel to Mary
      3. The Visitation of Mary to Elizabeth
      4. The Birth of Jesus
      5. The Presentation of Jesus In The Temple
      6. The Finding of Jesus In The Temple
  • Six Sorrowful Mysteries:
    1.  The Agony of Jesus In The Garden
      2. Jesus Is Scourged At The Pillar
      3. Jesus Is Crowned With Thorns
      4. Jesus Carries His Cross
      5. The Crucifixion
      6. The Body of the Lord was placed in the Arms of His Sorrowful Mother
  • Six Glorious Mysteries:
    1. The Resurrection of Jesus
      2. The Ascension of Jesus
      3. The Descent of the Holy Spirit at Pentecost
      4. The Assumption of Mary into Heaven
      5. The Coronation of Mary as Queen of Heaven and Earth
      6. The Patronage of Mary, Mediatrix of All Grace (Brigittine Rosary)
      7. The Patronage of Mary, Queen and Beauty of Carmel (Carmelite Rosary)


Due to the length of the Apostles Creed said six times and the extra mysteries this devotion requires more time to perform than the Dominican Rosary.

Perhaps for this reason that the latter has proved to be universally popular.

More Rosaries  >>>  HERE





 ad Jesum per Mariam